Home The Bridge
Options

A Primer on RNG. Kinda.

SkittishSlothSkittishSloth ✭✭✭
edited July 2019 in The Bridge
Because absolutely no one asked for it, I thought I'd throw out a very basic intro to how RNG often (sometimes?) is handled in video games - like Timelines. A couple of quick caveats:

Dammit Jim, I'm a coder, not a mathematician (or statistician). I'm a programmer, I've been one for almost twenty years. Always business-type stuff, never anything like video games. I always wanted to write games and used to try my hand at it, but bills and reasons and whatever. Some of the stuff I say might be off, or even flat out wrong, but hopefully it's close enough for government work. If you're reading this because you need the secrets of random numbers in the next five minutes to defuse a bomb, then I hope you figure it out so you can explain the sequence of events that led you to looking for bomb defusal advice on a game forum.

I hope this is somewhat obvious, but I don't work for DB. I haven't even filed a CS ticket that I can recall - no relationship with them whatsoever, and since I think this is my first post (versus a comment), I might have less of a relationship than a lot of you reading this. I want to make that clear because I have zero idea of how their stuff actually works. It could be exactly the same, it could be entirely different and make this post look idiotic at best. If I had to guess I'd say it's probably somewhere in between.

Also, this is only indirectly inspired by the recent Kirk-gate, and has no real bearing on it at all.

With those out of the way, let's begin shall we?