Home Strange New Worlds
Options

'McCoyisms' - "I'm a doctor, not a(n) ...!"

Our beloved Dr. McCoy felt on many occasions it was necessary for him to remind others that he was a doctor, and not something else. I thought it might be interesting to ask, do you have a favorite 'McCoyism'? - that is, one of his lines where he says, "I'm a doctor, not a(n) ...!"

I was inspired to start this thread yesterday when I heard McCoy say, "I'm a doctor, not an escalator!". This gave me a good laugh, as you would imagine his peers were probably unlikely to think of him being an escalator (if those will even exist in the 22nd century?!). I was going to mention the TOS episode in which I heard this, but figured I will instead allow someone in the knowledgeable player community to figure it out, and inform everyone ;)

Please share with us which 'McCoyism' you especially enjoy :)

Comments

• Options
    MagisseMagisse ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited May 2018
    "Not a bricklayer" is always memorable, from the Horta episode.

Though personally, I've always been partial to "Dialysis, what is this, the Dark Ages?"
  • Options
    Shy KhanShy Khan ✭✭✭✭✭
    I always loved that DeForrest Kelly deliberately chose to have McCoy mispronounce alien names and words all the time.
    Come join the Steeler Nation Fleet!
  • Options
    IronagedaveIronagedave ✭✭✭✭✭
    The one they should have added for the best loved episode (Spock's Brain)

"Dammit Jim, I'm a Doctor not a Brain Surgeon"
    [was on Sabbatical/Hiatus] Currently a trialist at Galaxy SquadronSTAY SAFE and KBO
  • Options
    *Nomad* {PoF}*Nomad* {PoF} ✭✭✭✭✭
    McCoy: "I'm a doctor, not an engineer!"
    Scott: "Now you're an engineer"
    (TOS: "Mirror, Mirror") Kind of appropriate right now :smile:
    Founding ADM - PoF family of fleets (POF, POF2 & POF3) - Dear TP: Non sequitur. Your facts are uncoordinated.
  • Options
    DittoDitto ✭✭✭
    I think a lot of them are here .. from various Drs throughout the various series .. :)