Home The Bridge

Discovery Spoken Dialogue/Voice Acting

Does any of the Discovery crew have voice acting/spoken dialogue? If not, has DB said why?

I started playing after most had been added, but none of the few I have do. While that could be due to general inconsistency/limitations on voice acted crew in general, I checked the wiki for Burnham, Tilly and Georgiou, and all of their variants either said "no known in game quotes" or quote1/quote 2. It's possible those updates just haven't been made yet, but most of the crew has been out for a while.

Of course, having Drone Seven as one of my bridge crew for Skirmishes reminded me how potentially annoying/repetitive spoken dialogue can be, so maybe I should be thankful if none of Discovery's cast speaks when selected.

Comments

• ThurthoradThurthorad ✭✭✭✭✭
    I love the quotes and often go to great lengths to get crew with them. It’s a nice thing to add DB!
  • (HGH)Apollo(HGH)Apollo ✭✭✭✭✭
    No Discovery crew have sound quotes. Very few new crew do. I don't know if DB has to pay more when they talk or it adds more to server load or what. Would be good to see more crew with sound quotes.
    Let’s fly!
  • Dirk GundersonDirk Gunderson ✭✭✭✭✭
    No Discovery crew have sound quotes. Very few new crew do. I don't know if DB has to pay more when they talk or it adds more to server load or what. Would be good to see more crew with sound quotes.

My guess is a bit of both: they may need to pay more for the rights to dialogue sound clips and it’s additional data that must be stored and recalled for use. By my count we’re one for two on sound clips desperately desired by the player base: we got Senator Vreenak’s “it’s a faaaake” and did not get Niners Worf’s “death to the opposition.”
  • Ishmael MarxIshmael Marx ✭✭✭✭✭
    Joe Sage2 wrote: »
    No bloody A, B, C, or D!

Yep, this was amusing at first, but after the 10th time, I turned the sound off and have never turned it on again. That was 2 years ago. :/