Home The Bridge
Options

DB/TP and Data Protection

Inspired by the recent in-game developments, which have lead to a lot of concerns regarding personal data, privacy and data protection, I thought it might be a good idea to address separately. This thread should not repeat feedback for the Offer Wall, we already have a thread for that. Please note that my own assessments constitute only my opinion. While I do have a professional background in data protection, I am not a lawyer.

A couple of general things worth pointing out:
  • The US, where DB/TP is headquartered, has a set of laws governing data protection different from, e.g., the European Union. However, Europe's data laws (mainly the already mentioned GDPR), mandate that a company that does business in the EU has to abide by these rules. Many of the current concerns are voiced by European players who suspect that their rights are not being observed properly.
  • The GDPR only concerns personalized data, i.e. data that is or can be attributed to a natural individual. However, even something as cryptic as an IP address already constitutes personal data (cf. https://www.twobirds.com/en/news/articles/2016/global/cjeu-decision-on-dynamic-ip-addresses-touches-fundamental-dp-law-questions).
  • The GDPR allows collection of data. However, in broad strokes, any collection of data needs to be lawful (there needs to be a legal ground for collection), have a limited scope (only data that is agreed upon or needed to render a service may be collected), and needs to be transparently communicated to the user.